Alaska – 6.1 Magnitude Earthquake – 138km NNW of Amukta Island

Family Survival Protocol - Microcosm News

M 6.1 – 138km NNW of Amukta Island, Alaska

 2014-02-26 21:13:40 UTC

Earthquake location 53.679°N, 171.837°W

Event Time

  1. 2014-02-26 21:13:40 UTC
  2. 2014-02-26 10:13:40 UTC-11:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-02-26 15:13:40 UTC-06:00 system time

Location

53.679°N 171.837°W depth=264.7km (164.5mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 138km (86mi) NNW of Amukta Island, Alaska
  2. 1371km (852mi) SSE of Anadyr’, Russia
  3. 1550km (963mi) WSW of Anchorage, Alaska
  4. 1578km (981mi) WSW of Knik-Fairview, Alaska
  5. 2321km (1442mi) W of Whitehorse, Canada

…..

Instrumental Intensity

ShakeMap Intensity Image

…..

Tectonic Summary

Seismotectonics of Alaska

The Aleutian arc extends approximately 3,000 km from the Gulf of Alaska in the east to the Kamchatka Peninsula in the west. It marks the region where the Pacific plate subducts into the mantle beneath the North America plate. This subduction is responsible for the generation of the Aleutian Islands and…

View original post 1,430 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s